make me into a temple

oh Lord,
how distant is your presence
locked up behind some altar
I cannot enter,
so far away I am
from witnessing your mysteries.
What place can I call holy?

oh Lord,
I am cut away from your sacraments.
What thing can I touch
and call sacred?

oh Lord,
all I have is my body, mind, and soul
and the world in which
you have emplaced me.

oh Lord,
make me into a temple
because I am a temple,
and I was always a temple,
oriented to your holy house.

~psalm #2, Queer Psaltikon

This entry was posted in poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

